Dating site scams
#1
Posted 21 December 2008 - 11:01 AM
Now I'm on plentymorefish. I got quite annoyed when I got a message from another member telling me that I am also on singles365.com I wondered what he was playing at and what I was being accused of.
I went to look at the site and sure enough, there I am. The exact same profile as on plentymorefish. I also immediately recognised the photos of other members as ones I had seen on the front page of plentymore fish. It seems it is full of the same profiles.
I cannot get into my profile on singles365.com because I don't have an account as I have never signed up with them and have certainly never added my profile. I tried using the same login details as I have for plentymorefish but it didnt' work. You can also only contact them after you have signed up (which I am not going to do)
I have however noticed that it is the same company that runs both sites so I have gone to the companys web site and sent them an email telling them to remove my profile from singles365.com and any other site I have not given permission for it to be added to.
I am really angry about this.
#2
Posted 21 December 2008 - 11:11 AM
Not Suitable for Under 18's or those easily offended.
#3
Posted 21 December 2008 - 12:23 PM
I can see the latter possibility being a real problem. But if the first one happens, doesn't it in fact increase your chances of meeting someone?
#4
Posted 21 December 2008 - 12:39 PM
As I said, I can't even access my profile (other than to look at it like others can) on that site. It has no actual connection to me at all.
#5
Posted 21 December 2008 - 03:54 PM
Found this on their website
Now I have no real idea what any of that means.. it seems to be a selction of words in some sort of order, but I think it basically says if you put information on their site they can use it how they see fit...
Although I'm sure someone will come along and tell me otherwise
#6
Posted 21 December 2008 - 06:05 PM
Chez, on 21 Dec 2008, 03:54 PM, said:
that made my head hurt!
having thought about it since I probably ticked a box at some point saying I had read and agreed with the agreement and of course I haven't and I bet there is something in there giving them permission to do that.
It seems very wrong that they can though. It's like paying someone to steal your identity.
#7
#8
Posted 22 December 2008 - 10:02 AM
#9
Posted 22 December 2008 - 02:26 PM
Helen,
I'm sorry for any worry this has caused. The sites (Singles365.com, PlentyMoreFish.com, etc) are actually the exact same site that has simply been rebranded to attract a different type of Member. The only differences are the colours used within the site and the logos and headers that are used. They all run from a single database and operate on the same servers and system so you details have at no point been duplicated or passed to any third parties.
All the sites that are part of the White Label Dating network are operated by us, Global Personals Limited, and the people who market the individual sites do not have any access to your details - they have no need to as we do all admin for the system.
I think the best way to explain it would be to compare White Label Dating to a huge shop. There may be a number of doors to enter the shop, each with a different sign over the door, but once inside the items available are all exactly the same. Similarly, Singles365 is just one 'shop front' for the WLD database, as is PlentyMoreFish, and all the Members that you see on the site are exactly the same.
Members from one site can contact those from another without needing to register under all the different sites and any Messages sent to you will arrive in your Plenty More Fish inbox.
I hope this has clarifed the matter but if you have any other concerns please get back in contact with us.
Many Thanks
Kelly- Support
If they are telling the truth that people can contact me (and the others) and the messages will come to me at plentymorefish then I suppose that is fair enough.
If they are telling the truth and aren't just filling up the site with profiles that don't lead anywhere to make it look like there are more people.
#10
Posted 22 December 2008 - 02:55 PM
the blog with the woofing dog - http://blog.evilflea.com
Fabulous and Adorkable since GGF3
Doppelgangometer reading: 0036.5
#11
Posted 22 December 2008 - 02:57 PM
#12
Posted 27 December 2008 - 12:13 AM
Xbox Live - marathonninety
Playstation Network - marathonninety
#13
Posted 27 December 2008 - 12:15 AM
No, no, perhaps not.
Still it surely beats the rather impersonal "mate 1"...

Help














